Tuesday, July 31, 2012

The Book We're Talking About This Week

"The Violinist's Thumb: And Other Lost Tales of Love, War, and Genius, as Written by Our Genetic Code"
Little, Brown - US$25.99

What is it about?
The story of DNA, and the scientists who discovered what we know about it. The book is written in a very informal tone, sharing incredible tales of our own existence woven in with gossip about the people who first told them.

Why are we talking about it?
Public interest in genetics has reached an all-time high, as advances in gene-based medicine and detailed DNA sequencing hits the headlines. Kean’s book, which is getting an initial print run of 75,000 copies, promises to be this summer’s must-read nonfiction book. Plus, it’s fun to read.

Who wrote it?
Sam Kean is a writer based in Washington, DC. His first book, The Disappearing Spoon, was about the history of the periodic table, and was a bestseller.

Who will read it?
Fans of Bill Bryson, Radiolab, readers of Mental Floss; people who might otherwise have picked up Jonah Lehrer’s book.

What do the reviewers say?
Click here to read the rest of this article.

No comments: